Going Online

So last week on the day before I deleted my Facebook I came across a news story saying how HMV Canada was going out of business and will be shut down completely later in the year and I was bummed out to say the least. For the past 8 years its been one of my go to places for buying CD’s and just discovering new music, but I guess that’s just a sign of the times we live in, much like the book store and the movie store’ the record store is going the way of the dodo..in fact its been going that way for the past 10 years. However I would’ve been able to deal with that had I have not come across the next bit of news. It was an article talking about how CD players are slowly being phased out of the new vehicles that are coming out, and it was at that point I went from being bummed out’ to the guy sitting on a front porch yelling at these goddamn kids to get of my damn lawn, it really takes the jam out of my donuts I tell ya. I think i’m probably one of the very very few whose actually bummed about this. I mean call me old fashioned but to me there’s nothing better then buying a physical copy of an album and just putting it into your CD player and driving off with that being the soundtrack to the rest of your day. I know what most of you are probably thinking right now because I’ve heard this retort many times before, “just get your music online dumb ass its the same thing” and to that I say fuck off no its not! Because once its gone for good i’m gonna miss the days of going into a record store and looking through the rows and rows of albums not knowing exactly what I’m looking for but just getting lost in everything and discovering new artists and finding hidden gems. Yeah ill miss everything about those days, just browsing through records, pretending to be interested in Coldplay so you could catch the eye of the girl in the same aisle as you, getting recommendations from a worker in a van halen t shirt who smells like weed telling you about whats coming in and what to check out. Just the overall record store vibe is what ill miss. You’re never going to get that online ill tell ya that much, id rather have that any day of the week instead of being able to download thriller while i’m sitting on the toilet. But that’s the world we live in now, everything has gone online and streaming is king right now, which is pretty friggin amazing actually seeing as that’s how i discovered most of the albums i bought last year. So i’m not completely crushed as with a new age comes new ways of discovering and enjoying music so its not all bad. I’ll just end it off with this and say that im gonna miss those days.

Leave a Reply

